Posted in Daily Prompt, poetry

Mind the Jungle

My mind is the jungle
lyrically lush
like the Congo after an afternoon
rain
Fertile and untamed
lavish and abundant in the words
that I pen
caressingly on my paper
in hopes of impressing
you like the teasing of a
coming sneeze
pressing parts of me
on to you,
your mind remembering the sound
of each word I have uttered
into existence

My impression
presses me to speak phrases
as vividly as they live in my
mind’s jungle
wild thoughts elope with enslaved words
and consummate in a blissful
menagerie that reveals the savage
and essence of me
titillating impressions undress my mind
so the words can dance free
of restraint that held
a beast that wants to run wild and
naked and adorned in lyrical majesty
I am the storm that brings the rain
to the fruits of my phrases
as they grow and feed you
stimulating your cravings
til you become enthralled in the poetry,
a delicious and satisfying morsel.
Impressed?

In my mind’s jungle
I am the king where the wild things
stay
I play with all of my prey
unable and unwilling to leave
lingering on the edge
of every word, every thought,
every ravenous imagining
as I feast on the moments
and devour the musings
impressed by the deliciousness of you.

Impression

Author:

Poetic moments in the words of a dreamer and other randomness in the words of a believer. "Hang yourself, poet, in your own words. Otherwise, you are dead." ~ Langston Hughes

3 thoughts on “Mind the Jungle

  1. Wonderful… Spectacular… Wondrously depicted in your words of your feelings, your thoughts and your heartbeat. Loving the way you do poetry, making look more than art, it is a masterpiece. Hope to see more from you. Have hope, write on!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

