Posted in Daily Prompt, DiscoverWP, poetry

Finally

The words
once held hostage
in the private tomes of my soul
finally break free
I am at peace with the world
and the world is at war
with me
Battle bound
unprepared, but fierce
I listen to the cries
and fall prey to
their criticism
and praise
Words escape me
and find solace in the ears,
the mind, and the hearts
of strangers unaware
of the torture endured
as my soul uncontrollably
strips bare
I fret with each
syllable of each
word as the unpaintable
picture of what
I say
and what I think
becomes a personal masterpiece
and I find peace
finally
for one silent moment
before I capture
the restless and reckless words
and gently bind them
in my soul
again

Final

Author:

Poetic moments in the words of a dreamer and other randomness in the words of a believer. "Hang yourself, poet, in your own words. Otherwise, you are dead." ~ Langston Hughes

2 thoughts on “Finally

Leave a Reply

