Posted in Daily Prompt, DiscoverWP, poetry

And I Blush

Lace,
red and pink
antique
manufactured, laser-jet printed
cardboard
paper cards that say
“I Love You”
and
“You are the One”
pastel sugar candy hearts
evoking short messages of
endearments
“Be Mine”
“U R a QT”
chocolate cupids shooting arrows
for your sticky sweet
affection
and floral arrangements of red
pink
or yellow roses
long-stemmed and thorny
those soft petals
spread on pillows

A day to brag
boast
flaunt and
parade
all the materialistic bounty
that a lover can afford
so that tomorrow
you can go back to when
you barely even spoke
or when sitting beside you
with a bowl of popcorn
and a conversation
was a romantic interlude of a
love that is
not systematically manufactured

Saying that you love me
in ways that touch
my heart
in handcrafted memories that
linger in my soul
and I blush
pink all over
in the sweet morning, noon, and night lovings
that I can remember long after
the pretty cards fade
the chocolate candy melts
and the pink flowers die
blushing pink and
remember how you love me
in ways that touch
my heart
and encase me forever
in yours

Pink

Author:

Poetic moments in the words of a dreamer and other randomness in the words of a believer. "Hang yourself, poet, in your own words. Otherwise, you are dead." ~ Langston Hughes

One thought on “And I Blush

Leave a Reply

