Posted in poetry

Bar None

I am not
without understanding.
I need you to know that.
I begin to speak and you don’t
even
hear
me.
You say, you see me. See, that’s
the thing with you visually
aroused
audio impotents.
You see me
but you don’t hear me.
I’m speaking words so deep and proving my point so clear
that if this conversation was the Atlantic Ocean,
I’d be the light shining within the
Mariana Trench
and you’d be
the shadow of a child’s
plastic sailboat.
Conversely lacking the stimulation
that I need.
You say that you see me
and you smile
and I smile
and I pretend that what you say is intelligent
and funny
and that the sound of your voice
isn’t like a hum of a refrigerator.
So that when I speak
you’ll listen and not be afraid
of the depth of what I really have to say
I’m not a vision, I’m the visionary.
I’m not a joke, I’m the belly rumbling
laugh
I am all of the thoughts
and expressions
At the bare minimum,
a woman’s essense.
So, don’t be afraid of what I say
when I answer
what you ask.
You see, I’ve been
waiting to be heard
to be understood,
bar none.

None

Author:

Poetic moments in the words of a dreamer and other randomness in the words of a believer. "Hang yourself, poet, in your own words. Otherwise, you are dead." ~ Langston Hughes

One thought on “Bar None

Leave a Reply

