Posted in poetry

Against it All

I fret in worry
fearing nothing will stop my descent
Soaked to the skin
Giving up everything Heaven’s denied
my fragile wings torn on the wind.

Nothing to cushion the fall
wanting to fly home again
knowing I can’t stand alone

I’d smolder Hell to end the sting
The hurting that loss brings
In my weakness
fearing I’ve none left to give
I pray for strength
I want to fight for what is true
I want to the everlasting peace
Because of You
Because without You
Forever is a desolate eternity
And I’m standing still against the storm

Soaked to the skin
Wings crushed from my fall
There is no forever without You
No you without a worthy sacrifice
So the calm finds me
Peace unto me
Calgary’s place finds me
born again
Soaked to the skin
renewed

No harm shall come to be
I am sheltered by You
armored against it all
none shall prosper against me
because with You
I am covered
by Your bloodstained wings,
Grace and Mercy.

None

Author:

Poetic moments in the words of a dreamer and other randomness in the words of a believer. "Hang yourself, poet, in your own words. Otherwise, you are dead." ~ Langston Hughes

Leave a Reply

