Posted in Daily Prompt, poetry

Knowing Never

Ever wonder where you’d be
if I’d let you
get to know me?
No, not the parts
that you want to touch
or that catch your eye
or that linger long after I leave.
No, know
the real me
the one who smiles because
everyone is looking
or expecting me to
the one who loves hearts
more than books
and the one who
wold have loved
you
knowing me.
Ever wonder where I’d be
if you;d let me
get to know you?
The parts
that I wanted to touch
the looks that caught my eye
the thoughts that linger long after you left.
The real you
that made me smile because
you were looking
and expecting me to
the one who protects hearts
more than dreams
and the one who
would have loved
me
knowing you.
Youth doesn’t think and wisdom isn’t there
and somehow
we never got to know…
What happens
when a dream becomes a
NEVER?

Author:

Poetic moments in the words of a dreamer and other randomness in the words of a believer. "Hang yourself, poet, in your own words. Otherwise, you are dead." ~ Langston Hughes

Leave a Reply

